Hill People Gear Forums
HomeHomeDiscussionsDiscussionsGeneralGeneralpyramid shelters and windpyramid shelters and wind
Previous

Next
New Post
3/3/2014 7:45 PM

Hello all, I've been lurking around the forum for awhile but just finally got around to registering.

After having my lightweight dome tent nearly flattened by wind this past weekend, I've decided I need a sturdier shelter.  I like the lightweight pyramid style shelters but I'm wondering how well they hold up in serious wind? Better than a dome tent?  I imagine it mostly depends on how well it is staked out, but I would love to hear from anyone w/ firsthand experience.

New Post
3/3/2014 8:42 PM

I've been using a Black Diamond Megalight for the past 5 years.  The Megalight is about 5 1/2' tall.  If it's staked down properly it will handle powerful wind gusts without feeling like it will topple over at all.  I have used it on our windy prairies and have occasionally found a solid rock to place over the windward stakes - just to be sure.  I can't speak for a true tipi design, but the Megalight will deform from the wind.  Depending on where your head is you can find yourself getting slapped with silnylon all night.  Most of the time I hunt around and try to find a better site that will get me out of the wind but sometimes that's just not possible.  I'm not sure that my mid will ever be quite as bombproof as a true four season mountaineering tent, but it's about a quarter of the weight. 

New Post
3/4/2014 8:33 AM

Thanks for your reply ChrisF, It makes sense that a tent that light wouldn't be quite as bombproof as a four season mountaineering tent.  The weight savings is definately a plus though. 

New Post
3/4/2014 10:23 AM