Hill People Gear Forums
HomeHomeDiscussionsDiscussionsGeneralGeneralOutdoor JobsOutdoor Jobs
Previous

Next
New Post
10/25/2016 7:24 AM

Howdy,

I will throw out the main idea of the question before I go into detail so I don't waste anyones time. I have been through a few jobs and schools now, but have not found anything that stuck with me. My main criteria, which I know is vague and almost pathetic, is I want to work outdoors. I am asking if there is anyone on the forums who may have a job in forestry, parks, etc. how they may have gotten there or any tips for starting out.

A bit of background..

I was born in California, and moved to Maine for my high school years. I shipped off to Bootcamp in Paris Island one month after I graduated High School. I was enlisted for four years in artillery, with one tour in Afghanistan. I was stationed in Hawaii and also went on a UDP to Japan for six months. I enjoyed the Marines but ultimately I knew it was not for me in the long run. I moved to Colorado (where I still am) for college at University of Northern Colorado. I attended one year with the major Recreation, Hospitality and Tourism Management. Again, not what I ended up wanting. After that first year I went to Colorado School of Trades (gunsmithing school). I graduated from there and had a blast, however, still did not appeal for a pursuit. I now work at a Sportsman's Warehouse as an archery department "Lead," which means doing a lot of manager duties without getting the manager pay. All I wanted you to get out of this was that I am open to a lot of change and am not afraid to try new things/places.

I am the first person in my family to get involved in firearms and hunting, so I never grew up with it. My stepdad is a great fisherman but I never enjoyed fishing until I caught my first trout on a dry fly in RMNP.