Hill People Gear Forums
HomeHomeDiscussionsDiscussionsGeneralGeneralBivouac SacksBivouac Sacks
Previous

Next
New Post
5/27/2016 1:31 PM

I'm hoping to get some input on bivy bags.

I've been using a USGI Goretex Bivy bag for a couple of years now. I couple it with a poncho, since it's my preferred piece of rain gear, to sit under and so I don't have to zip things up all the way when it's raining. 

Unfortunately the USGI bag is heavy heavy heavy at over 36.33 ounces according to my little kitchen scale. I'd like to remove some of that weight from my pack (I could carry a tarp tent and the poncho for a lot less weight!) and increase the breathablilty of my bivy and would like your recommendations for a bivy made out of Event or some comparable material. I have two real requirements. The first is that bivy has a mosquito net of some sort on it that can be covered up when needed. The more I can just open it up and use it as a bug net in warmer weather the better. The second is no poles - a loop to pull the netting up by will suffice for me.

Being able to stake the corners and tie a sleeping pad down on the inside are features that would be "nice to have" but aren't deal breakers. 

I've done the whole ultralight water resistant breathable bivy under a poncho thing and have the skills to pull it off in nasty weather but it's to much work. I like the concept but with the ability to pitch my poncho how I want almost regardless of weather (normally this means a half pyramid pitch or lean to) and still batten down the hatches if necessary due to swirling winds or a shift in the wind means more to me than being as light as possible.

I'm looking hard at the Borah Gear: Snowyside Event Bivy for the features and price but price doesn't matter within reason if the features I want are there since I'll keep the thing for many many years.

New Post
5/27/2016 2:18 PM