Hill People Gear Forums
HomeHomeDiscussionsDiscussionsGeneralGeneralP & S CameraP & S Camera
Previous

Next
New Post
8/19/2016 9:14 AM

Mine bit the dust, what are you all running for a simple camera?

New Post
8/19/2016 9:49 AM

I'm in the same boat.  I've been using the same Canon Powershot-series camera for the last several years and it crapped out where I am now in Peru / Paraguay.  Wouldn't mind getting something tougher, like one of the Olympus Tough models, but would like a better lens with zoom capability.  I will certainly defer to knowledge from Superbadger or Evan regarding one that is a step up from a standard DSLR, to a decently priced one that has a good lens with zoom, but still rugged for outdoor use.

Edit:  I found this site http://www.switchbacktravel.com/best-... which provides some insight for good models.

Hill People Gear Coureurs des Bois (Brand Ambassador). Victoria faveat paratam. De Oppresso Liber.

New Post
8/19/2016 4:41 PM

ANY camera you get today will be way better than the camera you got several years ago. In terms of zoom (optical is all that matters), image sensor capability, and size to features. They improve at about the same rate as mobile phones. I don't know anything about the tough models. For me, camera rides inside of a padded organizer bucket inside of kit bag and I haven't had any toughness issues with the Powershots I always get. Upgrades have taken place every 3 years or so simply to take advantage of the inevitable product improvements, not because they've worn out.

We are fortunate in this matter that your conduct will be your marker and, thus, your reputation. The conduct of others on this forum has been, and will continue to be, their marker, and thus, their reputation. In the west, a person invests in one's reputation carefully. - 112Papa

New Post
8/19/2016 5:38 PM