Hill People Gear Forums
HomeHomeDiscussionsDiscussionsGeneralGeneralCarbon Hiking PolesCarbon Hiking Poles
Previous

Next
New Post
3/2/2016 7:57 PM

My current aluminum hiking poles are nearing the end of their useful time of service. As I look at replacements poles I'm intrigued by some of the carbon poles. I have zero experience with them and am wondering what some of you can share with me regarding your experiences with carbon poles? Is the extra cost worth it? Are they durable? Specific recommendations in regards to brands, locking mechanisms, etc? Other observations?

Thanks.

New Post
3/2/2016 10:44 PM

I eyeballed them at REI and looked at the weights online and I decided to get aluminum Flicklocs.

New Post
3/3/2016 12:32 PM

TaK,
Why did you end up going with aluminum?
My reasons for leaning towards going with aliuminum again are 1) the weight difference isn't that much, and 2) It seems to me that aluminum would be more durable. I base this off my experience with aluminum vs carbon arrows. Yes, aluminum takes a bend whereas carbon doesn't, but once carbon's integrity is compromised ie cracked, it is done.
Your thoughts?
Also, how do you like the Flicklocs?
Thanks.

New Post
3/3/2016 2:25 PM

Kev, yeah, I just figured the Al poles would be more durable.  I still have a pair of Al Komperdells that are still sound but the twistlocs are starting to fail on an occasional downhill.  Haven't had the flic locs on the trail yet but I think I'll like 'em fine.

I've had the same experience as you with arrows.  The only reason to go carbon with arrows is they won't bend. 

New Post
3/3/2016 4:49 PM